Songs In My Heart

Hey belles & beaus!

I know the title kind of sounds like I should be talking about love songs. But that now what this post is about. You know how we have songs that just kind of grab us and never let go? Well they’re not always love songs. Sometimes they are songs that just describe us in our lowest points or how we’ve greatly grown over the years.

piecebypieceFor me, the songs that have been really grabbing at my heart are by RaeLynn and Kelly Clarkson. Now I know they absolutely beautiful love songs, but the two songs that have really been hitting me aren’t their love songs.

RaeLynn’s song “Love Triangle” has been on my mind a lot along with Kelly Clarkson’s “Piece by Piece”. Now if you want to take a listen to either of these songs, they’re both on my Blogging Sounds playlist on Spotify.

Now, if you’ve read my About Me page, then you know that basically I don’t speak of my father. My parents divorced when I was four. He was in and out of my life for years. I finally got sick of a lot of the things surrounding me as far as he was concerned and I made the decision to completely cut him out of my life. I know, it’s not the best way to say things, but it’s basically how it was and still is. I don’t ed65e4083ff2d228b85ef84f90a4f855.1000x1000x1talk about it much because there are still moments when it hurts a lot more than other days.

Now where both songs discuss the idea of parents and a divorce, RaeLynn’s focuses more on when the child is young. My mother had full custody of me but I did visit with my father on weekends when he was in town. ย So it kind of hits my heart from when I was a child.

But Kelly Clarkson’s song “Piece by Piece” describes growing up and finding that man who helps rebuild her heart after all the breaking done by her father. Now I haven’t found my someone, but I have slowly been making progress to being happy again.

I certainly still have my moments that it hurts a lot. I see girls with their dads being happy and it stings. It does. But after all that I went through, I had to make a choice for myself and I chose to be happy. Even though these songs really hit that spot where it stings, they also help me heal in a way.

We all have songs that pick us up, but we also have songs that help us heal. These song really do that for me.

What songs really help you heal when you’ve been hurting?

